A Beginner’s Journey in Cosmetics

The land of cosmetics have always intimidated me, so many colors and so many brands. I always tried my best to stay away from it, and once in a while I’d try some on, and it’d turn out looking hideous so I had to quickly wipe them off.

To give you a little bit of background about me, I grew up as a tomboy. My school didn’t allow girls to have hair past their ears, so we had to keep them short, army-length short! I wore baggy uniforms, and played soccer with the boys and kicking dirt while doing it.

While in college, I started realizing my wardrobe is a bit… off to say the least, they didn’t match, some of them weren’t even my size! As I started noticing the world around me, I began to appreciate the beauty of it and the creativity people have, with their wardrobe, their hair style and their makeup.

So I started transforming, I began going to malls, trying out different clothes, learning from friends about what looks good and slowly developed a taste of my own.

But cosmetics still stayed as a world of wonder to me, I was always in-awe when I see girls trying out make up in Sephora, half of the things there I couldn’t even pronounce, let alone knowing what they were used for.

Then Christmas of last year, I came across an Youtube video, a make up tutorial done by Jen from frmheadtotoe. She is just this really sweet girl, who had a ton of knowledge on cosmetics and most importantly offered tips on how to apply them. So I spent the entire Christmas break going over all of her videos, absorbing all the knowledge she has to share and started looking for other youtube tutorials.

That’s how I started getting into the world of cosmetics, and how I fell in love with it. Now still not close to being a professional, but no longer intimidated while walking into Sephora and I’ve even started to give out tips and recommendations to my friends.

So I thought of starting a blog, to share my experience as I get deeper into the cosmetics land, and sharing a thing or two while I’m at it.

One thought on “A Beginner’s Journey in Cosmetics

Please Leave a Reply

