Review: They’re Real! Push-Up Liner – Benefit

Recently I received a sample of the “They’re Real! Push-Up Liner” by Benefit as part of my Sephora purchase. I’ve been playing around with it for the past few months, so I figured I’ll do a review for it.

photo1

First, the packaging. The cap is a twist off, and inside is what Benefit calls an AccuFlex™ tip. I feel like this is the most interesting part of the product. The tip has a rubber-like feel, it bends as you apply the product. You can twist the bottom of the liner to get the product to come out. Note the first time you use it, you’ll have to keep twisting a few times before you see any sign of the product.

Now, the formula. The product comes out of the tube in a solid form, but when applied, it looks like a liquid liner then dries almost like a gel liner. It also stays on all day, and doesn’t budge at all.

When using this pen, you have to be very careful not to over-twist, so that there is only a very thin layer of the product that comes out. Once I made the mistake of having too much product, and it left chunks of clumps. Believe me, it was not a pretty sight, nor was it easy to clean off. 😦

But if you manage to get just the right amount of product, the AccuFlex™ tip makes it very easy to apply a thin precise line.

photo2

Tip: since I always like to go for a natural look, I find a liquid eyeliner to be too harsh on my eyes. So what I like to do is to apply a brown (or any other natural-shaded eyeliner) pencil liner first, then use this liner over it but slightly thinner. So this way it’ll soften the look while giving a faded liner feel.

The verdict: 8/10. I’d probably buy this product. It’s a nice replacement to a liquid liner, and makes applying a breeze as long as you can master the twisting part of it. 😉

Please Leave a Reply

