Organic Shampoo/Conditioner Review (Part I) — Nature’s Gate Aloe Vera Moisturizing Shampoo

Lately I’ve been on an organic shampoo and conditioner kick. I used to just grab any random drugstore shampoo and conditioner, but I came across this article one day and realized all the harmful ingredients that are lurking in there, so I went on a research frenzy and decided that I wanted to see if there are any good organic/natural alternatives.

This is my organic shampoo/conditioner collection so far. I’ve used up most of these products, so I’m going to do a series of reviews on them to share with you my thoughts.

cover2

Today we’ll start off with the Nature’s Gate Aloe Vera Shampoo.

shampoo

Before I start with the reviews, let me talk about my hair type, so you can better judge whether these shampoo/conditioners are for you. I have the typical asian hair, dark brown, straight with medium thickness. My hair is oily towards the scalp and dry at the ends, so I normally use shampoo all over my hair with focus on the scalp, and I apply conditioner only to the bottom of my hair below the ears. If you’d like to see my hair care routine, leave a comment, and I will do a detailed post about it. 🙂

The Nature’s Gate Aloe Vera Shampoo is a vegan, non-GMO (Genetically Modified Organisms) shampoo. It’s paraben free, soy free and cruelty free. It’s made with Aloe Vera and Macadamia Oil for moisturizing purposes, and it states that it’s better for dry/coarse hair.

The texture of this shampoo feels more like gel, it’s clear in color, and it has a faint flowery scent. When I massage it into my hair, I feel a tingly feeling on my scalp, and it’s quite refreshing after I got used to it. This feeling stays for a while even after it’s washed off.

shampoo_texture

The shampoo cleans my hair pretty well, but my hair starts to get quite oily the next afternoon. I think this is because it’s a moisturizing shampoo, so if you have dry/coarse hair, this will be much better for you.

Overall, I give it 8/10. I’d try this brand again, but I’ll buy one that’s better suited for oily hair.

Would you try an organic shampoo?

4 thoughts on “Organic Shampoo/Conditioner Review (Part I) — Nature’s Gate Aloe Vera Moisturizing Shampoo

Please Leave a Reply

