Smashbox Always Sharp Waterproof Kôhl Liner Review

cover

Over the holidays, I bought a special edition Smashbox Always Sharp Waterproof eyeliner to try out. It was on sale for $29 for 5 eyeliners, which works out to be about $5 each, considering they each sell for $20, it was a really good deal!

I originally got these eyeliners just to expand the colors in my eyeliner collection, but I discovered an amazing secret to these eyeliners that I didn’t know. They are indeed as advertised to be “always sharp”!

Before I get to that, let’s take a look at the inside of the box. It was so pretty with all of them sitting next to each other, just waiting for me to try them out. 🙂

inside

Now let’s get back to the self-sharpening side. When I first tried one out, I was expecting it to be your normal twist-up eyeliners, but I discovered that’s not the case, and only the cap is twistable. I’d use the eyeliner, put it back and the next day it’d be magically sharp again! I was so fascinated by it, and I discovered the cap itself contains a sharpener on the inside, so every time when you screw back the cap, you are essentially re-sharping the eyeliner! What an amazing concept!

sharpener

I wish all the eyeliners would do the same, as we all know, sharpening a pencil eyeliner not only is annoying, it also wastes a lot of product. Here’s a look at before and after:

before&after

Finally, the product itself is also quite excellent. The eyerline is waterproof and it glides on easily and doesn’t move throughout the day. The colors are also very pigmented and vibrant, making it easy to create lots of looks with these eyeliners.

Here’s a look at the swatches for each shade:

swatches.jpeg

I’d definitely give these a try if you haven’t! You can find the individual ones at Sephora.

Have you tried these out yet? How do you like them?

6 thoughts on “Smashbox Always Sharp Waterproof Kôhl Liner Review

  1. Interesting concept – one of the reasons why I don’t like automatic pencils is that they get dull and it’s usually not possible to sharpen them. I also think that they get used up much quicker because the plastic casing makes it seem like there’s a lot of product inside but there isn’t!
    This kit looks really nice – you got a great deal on it too!

Please Leave a Reply

